top of page


Parker Garcia
Parker Garcia

How to Play Akira Miyoshi's Piano Sonata: Tips and Techniques

Akira Miyoshi's Piano Sonata: A Masterpiece of Modern Japanese Music

Akira Miyoshi (1933-2013) was one of the most prominent and influential composers of Japan in the 20th century. His music reflects his diverse interests, experiences, and influences, ranging from French literature to traditional Japanese culture. Among his many works, his Piano Sonata (1958) stands out as a remarkable example of his musical creativity, originality, and expression. In this article, we will explore the life and career of Akira Miyoshi, the features and structure of his Piano Sonata, and the importance and impact of this work on modern Japanese music.

akira miyoshi piano sonata pdf download

Who was Akira Miyoshi?

Akira Miyoshi was born in Tokyo in 1933. He was a child prodigy on the piano, studying with Kozaburo Hirai and Tomojiro Ikenouchi. He also developed a keen interest in French literature, especially poetry, which would later influence his musical style. He studied French literature at the University of Tokyo, where he graduated in 1960.

His early years and education

Miyoshi's musical talent was evident from an early age. He started playing the piano at the age of five, and composed his first piece at the age of seven. He studied piano with Kozaburo Hirai, a renowned pianist who had studied with Debussy's pupil Alfred Cortot. He also studied composition with Tomojiro Ikenouchi, a pioneer of modern Japanese music who had studied with Paul Dukas.

Miyoshi was fascinated by French literature, especially poetry. He read works by Baudelaire, Rimbaud, Verlaine, Mallarmé, Valéry, Apollinaire, Eluard, Breton, and others. He was particularly drawn to the symbolism, imagery, and musicality of their language. He also learned French and became fluent in it.

In 1955, Miyoshi received a scholarship to study in Paris. He enrolled at the Paris Conservatory, where he studied composition with Henri Challan and Raymond Gallois-Montbrun. He also met Henri Dutilleux, a prominent French composer who became his mentor and friend. Dutilleux introduced Miyoshi to the works of Debussy, Ravel, Stravinsky, Bartók, Schoenberg, Webern, and Messiaen. He also encouraged Miyoshi to develop his own musical voice and to explore new techniques and sounds.

His career and achievements

Miyoshi returned to Japan in 1957. He started teaching at the Toho Gakuen School of Music, where he became a professor in 1965. He also taught at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music, where he became the dean of the music department in 1987. He was a respected and influential teacher who nurtured many young composers and musicians.

Miyoshi received many awards and honors for his compositions, both in Japan and abroad. In 1996, he was awarded the Officier de lOrdre des Arts et des Lettres from the French Government. In 1999, he received the 31st Suntory Music Award, one of the most prestigious music prizes in Japan. He also received the Otaka Prize six times, the Mainichi Art Award twice, the Japan Art Academy Prize, the Asahi Prize, and the Purple Ribbon Medal.

Miyoshi composed over 200 works in various genres and forms, including orchestral, chamber, vocal, choral, piano, guitar, percussion, and electronic music. His music reflects his wide-ranging interests and influences, such as French literature, traditional Japanese culture, nature, science, philosophy, and religion. His music also demonstrates his mastery of musical techniques and languages, such as polyrhythm, polytonality, serialism, aleatoricism, spectralism, and microtonality. His music is characterized by its expressive intensity, lyrical beauty, rhythmic vitality, harmonic richness, timbral diversity, and formal coherence.

What is the Piano Sonata?

The Piano Sonata is one of Miyoshi's earliest and most important works. He composed it in 1958 while he was still studying in Paris. It is dedicated to his teacher Henri Dutilleux. It is a three-movement work that lasts about 20 minutes. It is considered one of the masterpieces of modern Japanese piano music.

The first movement: Allegro

The first movement is marked Allegro. It begins with a four-note motif that consists of two ascending minor seconds followed by a descending major third. This motif serves as the main thematic material of the movement. It is repeated and varied throughout the movement in different registers, rhythms, harmonies, and dynamics.

The movement is based on a polyrhythmic structure that contrasts two different meters: 3/4 and 4/4. The motif is played in both meters simultaneously or alternately by the two hands of the piano. The result is a complex and syncopated rhythmic texture that creates a sense of tension and excitement.

The movement is also based on a polytonal structure that contrasts two different tonalities: C major and F-sharp major. The motif is played in both tonalities simultaneously or alternately by the two hands of the piano. The result is a rich and dissonant harmonic texture that creates a sense of contrast and color.

The movement develops through a series of episodes that explore different aspects of the motif. Some episodes are loud and energetic, while others are soft and lyrical. Some episodes are dense and chromatic, while others are sparse and diatonic. Some episodes are fast and agitated, while others are slow and calm.

The movement reaches a climactic point near the end where both hands play the motif in octaves in fortissimo. The movement then ends abruptly with a single chord that combines both tonalities.

The second movement: Andante

The second movement is marked Andante. It is a slow and expressive movement that contrasts with the first movement in mood and style. It begins with a lyrical melody that consists of long notes connected by grace notes. This melody serves as the main thematic material of the movement. It is repeated and varied throughout the movement in different registers, rhythms, harmonies, and dynamics.

The movement is based on a harmonic structure that uses chromaticism to create tension and resolution. The melody is played over a series of chords that are derived from different modes or scales 71b2f0854b




bottom of page